A Mother’s Reflection

image

I may have never held you in my arms as an infant,
welcoming you into the world through sweat and tears.

But I have held you in my heart like a precious being.
A whisper of love.

I may have not been there to celebrate your first words,
your first steps or your first birthday.

But I have held you in my heart as we celebrated together.

I may not have been there for many
of your very early years…

I can honestly say this now as a mother.
I have loved you since I first held you in my arms.

When I first welcomed you into my world as you welcomed me.
I have loved you for the first of our life together and always.

Thank you for the firsts you have shared with me,
both your sorrows and your triumphs.

I love you very dearly and am blessed too by your love.
As your ‘bonus’ mama.

©2016 Te’ Werner

©2005 Photo my two ‘bonus’ sons “Grinning in the Rain!”

I wrote this poem for my two bonus son’s who daily teach me to love…especially the things in life we don’t always understand or want too.

This poem is also written for those of us who have had the honour of being a mom without the stretch marks to prove it! 

Enjoy celebrating the wonder of being a mother! – Te’

Join the journey https://www.facebook.com/tewernertriumph

Leave a Reply

