A Mother’s Reflection

image

I may have never held you in my arms as an infant,
welcoming you into the world through sweat and tears.

But I have held you in my heart like a precious being.
A whisper of love.

I may have not been there to celebrate your first words,
your first steps or your first birthday.

But I have held you in my heart as we celebrated together.

I may not have been there for many
of your very early years…

I can honestly say this now as a mother.
I have loved you since I first held you in my arms.

When I first welcomed you into my world as you welcomed me.
I have loved you for the first of our life together and always.

Thank you for the firsts you have shared with me,
both your sorrows and your triumphs.

I love you very dearly and am blessed too by your love.
As your ‘bonus’ mama.

©2015 Te’ Werner

©2005 Photo my two ‘bonus’ sons “Grinning in the Rain!”

 
4 thoughts on “A Mother’s Reflection

  1. So beautiful! I was wondering if I could include this post in a book I’m working on as a tribute to mothers. Your name, age and country will be included or you can be anonymous. I totally understand if you want to decline, but just thought I’d check. Feel free to email for more info: wordslikesilk@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

